Runoff election to decide Brookhaven's first mayor, council members

1:56 AM, Nov 7, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

BROOKHAVEN, Ga. -- The City of Brookhaven will hold a runoff election for mayor, and three city council seats on December 4.

Brookhaven became its own city after the measure passed by 900 votes in July.

RELATED | Brookhaven votes to become own city

MORE | 2012 Election Results

At the end of general election races on November 6, candidate Max J. Davis led with 49 percent of the vote for mayor. Sandy Murray followed with 36 percent, as the candidates look to face each other next month. 

Jim Eyre is now Brookhaven's first elected official for District 2. Eyre took 62 percent of the votes, followed by Russell Mitchell at 36 percent and Larry Hurst, 2 percent. 

Brookhaven City Council District 1 will also be decided in the runoff, after a close finish by Rebecca Williams and Kevin Fitzpatrick Jr.

In District 3, Bates Mattison and Kevin Quirk finished neck-and-neck, each sharing 21 percent of the vote totals. Joe Gebbia will face Karen Lord in a runoff for District 4. Gebbia led with 40 percent of the vote after the general election, over Lord's 34 percent.

Most Watched Videos