State of Emergency extended for 15 counties

7:21 AM, Feb 15, 2014   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA -- Gov. Nathan Deal extended until Wednesday the state of emergency declaration for 15 counties hardest hit by the ice storm.

Counties included are: Baldwin, Burke, Butts, Columbia, Emanuel, Hancock, Jasper, Jefferson, Jones, Johnson, Pike, Richmond, Screven, Taliaferro and Washington.

Local emergency management officials in Richmond County reported to GEMA at least 200 homes suffered storm-related structural damage by falling trees. 

The governor has requested that FEMA conduct individual assessments in the area.  Federal officials could begin inspections as early as next week.

Ice Storm Photo Galleries:
Your ice storm photos
MORE of your ice storm photos 
EVEN MORE of your ice storm photos
Your kids and pets playing in the snow
Your Snow Creations

Most Watched Videos