Atlanta to host Nobel Peace Prize winners in 2015

ATLANTA -- Atlanta will host the 2015 gathering of the Nobel Peace Laureates, marking only the second time the summit will have been held in the United States.

PHOTOS | Notable Nobel Peace Prize Winners

More than 2,000 official delegates are expected to attend the summit, including Nobel Laureates President Barack Obama, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, W. De Klerk, Lech Walesa, Oscar Arias Sanchez, Shimon Peres and Henry Kissinger, reports Maria Saporta.

RELATED | 2013 Nobel Peace Prize goes to chemical weapons watchdog

The winner of the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize was announced early Friday. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons was recognized for "extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons."

Representatives of organizations that have received prizes will attend the Atlanta gathering, Saporta writes. The organizations include: Doctors Without Borders, Amnesty International and Intergovernmental Panel on Climate.

Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed said the summit is one of the "most important wins the city has had since I've been mayor because it is going to put the city of Atlanta in the heart of the international stage, and it's going to continue to strengthen the recognition of Atlanta as one of the leading cities in the world."

The complete story with details about what the city must do to get ready, members of the core host committee, and the Nobel Peace Prize winner who proposed that Atlanta host the summit, is posted online on the Atlanta Business Chronicle's subscriber content site and published in Friday's print edition.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment