A look at the horses in the 143rd Kentucky Derby

Grab a hat and get a Mint Julep in hand. It's the 143rd Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs.

There are 20 horses that will race the first leg of the Triple Crown Saturday at 6 p.m. on 11Alive. It has already been two years since American Pharoah ended the 37-year Triple Crown drought. 

There are a couple horses that could win the garland of roses and go on to win the coveted crown of horse racing. Classic Empire was considered the favorite throughout the week. The colt was the winner of the Arkansas Derby this year.

Other favorites include Irish War Cry and Always Dreaming who currently hold the best odds of 9-2. The fan favorite is Patch, the one-eyed horse who lost his eye after getting the name.

Here's a quick look at all of the horses in this year's Kentucky Derby in order from post positions:

1. Lookin At Lee (31-1)

Jockey: Corey Lanerie

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

2.  Thunder Snow (16-1)

Jockey: Christophe Soumillon

Trainer: Saeed bin Suroor

3. Fast and Accurate (37-1)

Jockey: Channing Hill

Trainer: Mike Maker

No. 4 Untrapped (57-1)

Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr.

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

No. 5 Always Dreaming (9-2)

Jockey: John Velazquez 

Trainer: Todd Pletcher


No. 6 State of Honor (51-1)

Jockey: Jose Lezcano

Trainer: Mark Casse

No. 7 Girvin (22-1)

Jockey: Mike Smith

Trainer: Joe Sharp

No. 8 Hence (16-1)

Jockey: Florent Geroux

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

No. 9 Irap (38-1)

Jockey: Mario Gutierrez

Trainer: Doug O'Neill

No. 10 Gunnevera (10-1)

Jockey: Javier Castellano

Trainer: Antonio Sano

No. 11 Battle of Midway (37-1)

Jockey: Flavien Prat

Trainer: Jerry Hollendorfer

No. 12 Sonneteer (36-1)

Jockey: Flavien Prat

Trainer: Keith Desormeaux

No. 13 J Boys Echo (46-1)

Jockey: Luis Saez

Trainer: Dale Romans

No. 14 Classic Empire (17-1)

Jockey: Julien Leparoux

Trainer: Mark Casse

No. 15 McCraken (6-1)

Jockey: Brian Hernandez Jr.

Trainer: Ian Wilkes

No. 16 Tapwrit (26-1)

Jockey: Jose Ortiz

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

No. 17 Irish War Cry (9-2)

Jockey: Rajiv Maragh

Trainer: Graham Motion

No. 18 Gormley (21-1)

Jockey: Victor Espinoza

Trainer: John Shirreffs

No. 19 Practical Joke (30-1)

Jockey: Joel Rosario

Trainer: Chad Brown

No. 20 Patch (12-1)

Jockey: Tyler Gaffalione

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

© 2017 WXIA-TV


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment