LIVE VIDEO: 11 Alive News at 10PM    Watch

Ex-Falcons kicker among first-timers on Hall of Fame ballot

4:13 PM, Sep 27, 2012   |    comments
Kicker Morten Andersen makes the game-winning kick in the 1999 NFC Championship Game, sending the Falcons to Super Bowl XXXIII (Getty Images)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Defensive lineman Michael Strahan, offensive lineman Larry Allen and defensive back John Lynch are three of the 13 first-year eligibles to headline the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

Other notable first timers include offensive lineman Jonathan Ogden, defensive lineman Warren Sapp and kicker Morten Andersen, who are part of a 127 member list eligible for the 2013 class.

The list will be cut down to 25 semifinalists by late November and will be reduced to 15 in early January.

Running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed, offensive lineman Will Shields, defensive lineman Charles Haley, linebacker Kevin Greene and defensive back Aeneas Williams were among the player finalists selected in 2012. Head coach Bill Parcells and owner Ed DeBartolo Jr. were also in consideration.

Quarterback Steve McNair, running back Priest Holmes, wide receiver Keenan McCardell, offensive lineman Tom Nalen and defensive linemen Sam Adams, Ted Washington and Bryant Young will also appear on the ballot for the first time.


The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos