Harvick wins Sprint Unlimited in Gen-6's debut at Daytona

Daytona Beach, FL (Sports Network) - Kevin Harvick held off Tony Stewart and Greg Biffle on the final lap to win Saturday night's Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway, a race that marked the competition debut of NASCAR's new Generation-6 car.

Harvick, who is in his final year with Richard Childress Racing, won the preseason, non-points race at Daytona for the third time. His other victories in this event came in 2009 and '10. He also gave team owner Richard Childress his eighth win in this race.

Biffle finished second, while Joey Logano, who made his first start in Penske Racing's No. 22 Ford, took the third spot. Stewart settled for fourth. Matt Kenseth, making his debut in Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 20 Toyota, completed the top-five.

Just 12 drivers finished this race, as a multi-car wreck occurred on lap 15. Stewart dove down the track and clipped Marcos Ambrose in turn three. Stewart managed to save his car, but Jimmie Johnson, who was running on the outside at the time, lost control and spun out, which triggered the incident. Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, who won this race last year, Mark Martin and Denny Hamlin had their night at Daytona end early.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment