Cooperstown, NY ( -- One year after no one was voted in, theNational Baseball Hall of Fame announced the election of three players onWednesday.

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas all got in on their first appearanceon the ballot, marking the first time since 1999 that three players werenamed.

Greg Maddux received 97.2% of the vote, Glavine received 91.9%. The record is 98.4% for Tom Seaver.

More on Hall of Fame induction:
-Pitching coach says Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux belong in Hall of Fame
-Bobby Cox voted into Hall of Fame
-Chipper Jones inducted into Hall of Fame

Maddux is a four-time Cy Young Award winner - all in a row. He had 355 career victories, the second most since 1930. Maddux won at least 15 games in 17 consecutive years and earned 18 Gold Gloves for his fielding excellence.

Tom Glavine is a two-time Cy Young winner and was the picture of consistency on his way to 305 career victories. Glavine made at least 29 starts in all but one season in a 20-year stretch, and from 1991 to 2002 he averaged a 17-8 record with a 3.15 ERA. Glavine is the fourth-winningest left-hander ever.

Eligible candidates needed to be named on 75 percent of the 571 ballotssubmitted this year by members of the Baseball Writers' Association ofAmerica, meaning 429 votes were required for election.

Craig Biggio missed the 75-percent cutoff by two votes, tying Nellie Fox in1985 and Pie Traynor in 1947 for the smallest margin in balloting history.

In addition to those above, the Class of 2014 will include managers Joe Torre,Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox, all of whom were elected unanimously on theExpansion Era Ballot in December, as well as Ford C. Frick Award winner EricNadel and Spink Award winner Roger Angell.

Enshrinement will take place in Cooperstown, N.Y. on July 27.

Read or Share this story: