(WXIA) -- The Associated Press and television networks are canceling exit polling in 19 states -- including Georgia -- for this year's presidential election.

According to The Washington Post, the decision came from the National Election Pool, a joint venture of the major television networks and the AP.

Along with Georgia, voters in Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming and the District of Columbia will not be polled for this year's exit polling.

The Post article says among the reasons the National Election Pool is leaving those states out is that each of the 19 states are classified in pre-election polling as "solid Obama" or "solid Romney" and not expected to change prior to Election Day.

Georgia has long been considered a "solid Romney" state, and the state's 16 electoral votes are expected by most analysts to go to the Republican candidate.

Read or Share this story: