Breaking News
More () »

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces 16 induction nominees for 2021

The 2021 inductees will be revealed in May after the voting process is complete. The induction ceremony will take place in Cleveland this fall.

Ryan Haidet

Play Video

Close Video

Published: 8:10 AM EST February 10, 2021
Updated: 3:58 PM EST February 10, 2021

The wait is over! The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland has unveiled its list of 16 nominees who are eligible for induction in 2021. Seven first-time nominees made the list, including:

  • JAY-Z
  • Mary J. Blige
  • Foo Fighters
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Iron Maiden
  • The Go-Go’s
  • Fela Kuti

The other nine have been nominated before, but weren't previously selected for induction. These include:

  • Kate Bush
  • DEVO
  • Chaka Khan
  • Carole King
  • LL Cool J
  • New York Dolls
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Tina Turner

Note: Scroll through the chapters below to read in-depth bios of each nominee.

If selected, Carole King and Tina Turner will be the second and third female artists to be inducted twice. Stevie Nicks was the first to achieve that honor back in 2019. Dave Grohl could also become a two-time inductee if the Foo Fighters are also chosen.

“This remarkable ballot reflects the diversity and depth of the artists and music the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame celebrates,” says John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “These nominees have left an indelible impact on the sonic landscape of the world and influenced countless artists that have followed them.”

Who will be the next group to join rock ‘n’ roll royalty? The inductees will be announced in May. The 2021 induction ceremony will follow during a yet-to-be-announced date this fall in Cleveland. Ticket information is not yet available.

Your vote can also make an impact on which inductees are selected. Cast your ballot in the fan vote HERE. Voting is open today through April 30. The top five artists selected by the public will comprise the “fan’s ballot,” which will then be tallied with the other ballots when selecting the class of 2021.

Before You Leave, Check This Out