ATLANTA — There are new rules in place for Georgia teens looking to get their driver's license.
Beginning July , 17-year-olds will have to successfully complete Joshua's Law driving training in order to obtain their Class D License, according to Georgia's Department of Driver Services.
In Georgia, House Bill 466 makes Joshua’s Law driver training mandatory for 17-year-olds.
RELATED: Joshua's Law Aims to Keep Teens Safe
The bill also mandates that all teen drivers must log at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least six hours of driving at night, before they can receive a Class D license.
DDS said teenagers waiting until 17 to test for their first license, will be excused from the 30 hours of drivers education and 6 hours of on-the-road training.
For complete teen driver training information please visit the DDS website at www.dds.georgia.gov.