ATLANTA, Ga -- Georgia is one of 15 states being targeted in a last-ditch attempt to change the outcome of last week’s presidential election.

A petition on is asking the Electoral College to award their votes to Hillary Clinton, not Donald Trump. Georgia is one of 15 states that does not bind its electors to the candidate who won their state, in this case, Trump.

The electoral college will formally cast its ballots in the Nov. 8 election on Dec. 19.

"We are calling on the Electors to ignore their states' votes and cast their ballots for Secretary Clinton," the petition says. "Mr. Trump is unfit to serve. His scapegoating of so many Americans, and his impulsivity, bullying, lying, admitted history of sexual assault, and utter lack of experience make him a danger to the Republic.

"Secretary Clinton WON THE POPULAR VOTE and should be President."

As of Saturday, Nov. 12, the petition had 3.5 million signatures.

According to the U.S. electoral college, each state’s political parties choose their electors at their respective state conventions or are chosen by their party’s central committee.

A total of 29 states bind their electors to the results of their state’s popular vote. Georgia, with 16 electoral votes, is not one of those states, the others being Arizona (11), Arkansas (6), Indiana (11), Iowa (6), Kansas (6), Kentucky (8), Louisiana (8), Missouri (10), North Dakota (3), Pennsylvania (20), Tennessee (11), Texas (38), Utah (6) and Virginia (13).

In early August, a Decatur-based Republican elector, Baoky Vu, said he would not cast a ballot for Trump if the billionaire businessman won the GOP nomination. Later in the week, Vu resigned as an elector.

For the past three nights, thousands of people in Atlanta and in other cities across the nation have protested Trump’s victory.

PHOTOS | Protesters in Atlanta Friday 11/11