DECATUR, Ga. -- Emory, Oglethorpe and Mercer Universities have teamed up to create tobacco-free campuses, and they're partnering with the DeKalb County Board of Health.

According to the Board of Health, these three campuses are the first to completely eliminate on-campus tobacco use in DeKalb County.

"We are excited to be among the first universities in DeKalb County to take this important step," said Linda Johns, R.N., Assistant Manager of Student Health and Tobacco Task Force Member at Mercer University.

Johns thinks this initiative "creates a healthier environment for all who visit our campuses" and "it also further aligns Mercer with its commitment to health and well-being."

All DeKalb County campuses aim to be tobacco-free by Fall 2012.