Breaking News
More () »

Gov. Kemp adds additional counties to state of emergency ahead of Hurricane Dorian

Nine more counties were added to the list.

ATLANTA — Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has added nine additional counties to his state of emergency in anticipation of Hurricane Dorian.

Wednesday morning, he tweeted a copy of his executive order, adding these nine counties:  Appling, Bacon, Bulloch, Clinch, Echols, Evans, Screven, Tattnall and Ware. He tweeted that tropical storm winds are expected in these areas. He also reminded people that price-gouging is prohibited. 

Those counties were added alongside others originally named on Friday: Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce and Wayne counties.

The purpose is to assist with preparations and response and recovery, if necessary. The state of emergency helps free up resources.

This executive order is from August 29 and ends at 11:59 p.m. on September 9. 

Hurricane Dorian is currently a Category 2 storm and set to encounter coastal Georgia and North Carolina this week. 

Credit: WXIA

For the latest updates on Hurricane Dorian click here.

Stay updated! Download the FREE 11Alive News app to receive breaking alerts and subscribe to our newsletter for email updates.

The exact place where the storm will make landfall remains uncertain.  The center of the storm could brush along the NC coast late Thursday into Friday. 

This is a developing situation. It's important to stay updated as new information becomes available. Bookmark this page and return for the latest updates. 

RELATED: Checklist: Your hurricane season supply kit


Hurricane Dorian right now | Latest updates on the deadly storm

Dorian moving NNW along the Florida coastline

Hurricane Dorian: Spaghetti models, tracking maps and more


State of Georgia Resources

  • View up-to-date emergency declarations from Governor Kemp here.
  • View updates from Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency here.
  • Visit Ready Georgia for weather alerts and emergency preparedness tips.
  • Follow Georgia 511 for real-time traffic information.
  • Learn what to do before, during, and after a flood here.
  • Report power outages by contacting your power provider. The two main providers in Georgia are:  
    • Georgia Power (contact here or at 888-891-0938)
    • Georgia electric membership cooperatives (EMCs) (find your local branch here)
  • Call your local non-emergency police line to report a downed tree on a main road.

Before You Leave, Check This Out