The Heisman Trophy finalists have become official, with all three candidates touting the same position.


For Saturday night's ceremony in New York City, Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa, Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins will be vying for the most coveted award in collegiate sports.

Regardless of which player earns the famous trophy, the preliminary voting guarantees the quarterback slot will claim the award for a third consecutive year (Lamar Jackson in 2016, Baker Mayfield in 2017).

The above line shouldn't surprise anyone: Covering the last 20 award presentations (1998-2017), only a quarterback or running back has captured the Heisman–even though Heisman voters are vaguely encouraged to subjectively select "the most outstanding player in college football."

Here's a capsule breakdown of each finalist (alphabetical order):

2018 Record: 12-1 (Big Ten champs)
2018 Stats: 4,580 yards passing, 51 TDs, 8 INTS, 70.2 completion rate
College Football Playoff rank: 6th

2018 Record: 12-1 (Big 12 champs)
2018 Stats: 4,945 total yards, 51 total TDs, 7 INTS, 70.9 completion rate
College Football Playoff rank: 4th

2018 Record: 13-0 (SEC champs)
2018 Stats: 3,353 yards passing, 42 TDs, 4 INTS, 67.7 completion rate
College Football Playoff rank: 1st