Breaking News
More () »

Atlanta's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Atlanta, Georgia | 11alive.com

Ga. Tech catcher Joey Bart makes history at the MLB draft

Bart, now property of the San Francisco Giants, amassed 16 homers, 38 RBI, 55 runs this season with Georgia Tech, along with elite tallies for batting average (.357) and on-base percentage (.471).

ATLANTA–Georgia Tech catcher Joey Bart made Major League Baseball history on Monday night, becoming the highest-selected Yellow Jackets player since the MLB amateur draft launched in 1965.

Bart, who was taken by the San Francisco Giants at No. 2 overall, was the first positional player off the board.

With the Jackets, the junior Bart amassed 16 homers, 38 RBI and 55 runs this season, along with elite-level tallies for batting average (.357), on-base percentage (.471), slugging percentage (.632) and OPS (1.103).

It's worth noting: Last year's No. 2 overall pick, prep pitcher Hunter Greene, signed with the Cincinnati Reds for a reported bonus of $7.23 million.


1986: P Kevin Brown, Rangers (4th overall)

1988 2B Ty Griffin, Cubs (9th)

1993: C Jason Varitek, Twins (21st)

1994: C Jason Varitek, Mariners (14th)

1994: OF Jay Payton, Mets (29th)

1994: SS Nomar Garciaparra, Red Sox (12th)

1997: OF Mark Fischer, Red Sox (35th)

2001: 1B/3B Mark Texeira, Rangers (5th)

2001: 2B Richard Lewis, Braves (40th)

2003: OF Matt Murton, Red Sox (32nd)

2005: SS Tyler Greene, Cardinals (30th)

2007: C Matt Wieters, Orioles (5th)

2007: OF Danny Payne, Padres (64th)

2010: P Deck McGuire, Blue Jays (11th)

2011: P Jed Bradley, Brewers (15th)

2012: P Luke Bard, Twins (42nd)

2017: C Joey Bart, Giants (2nd)

Including Bart, Georgia Tech now boasts 16 first-round picks in school history (including compensation-round selections). The list swells to 17 players, if you count catcher Jason Varitek going in Round 1 for consecutive years (1993 with Twins, 1994 with Mariners).


2017: Joey Bart, Giants

2014: Kyle Schwarber, Cubs

2012: Mike Zunino, Mariners

2009: Tony Sanchez, Pirates

2008: Buster Posey, Giants

2007: Matt Wieters, Orioles

2005: Jeff Clement, Mariners

2001: Joe Mauer, Twins (1st overall)

1999: Eric Munson, Tigers

1995: Ben Davis, Padres

1990: Mike Lieberthal, Phillies

1989: Tyler Houston, Braves

1985: Kurt Brown, White Sox

1979: Jay Schroeder, Blue Jays

1975: Danny Goodwin, Angels (1st overall)

1974: Dale Murphy, Braves

1973: John Stearns, Phillies

1972: Bobby Goodman, Expos

1971: Danny Goodwin, White Sox (1st overall)

1970: Mike Ivie, Padres

1970: Barry Foote, Expos

1970: Darrell Porter, Brewers

1968: Martin Cott, Astros

1968: Thurman Munson, Yankees