ATLANTA — Atlanta has cracked down on a few things in recent years, so here are some of the important laws or ordinances you should know.
1. HANDS-FREE LAW | If you're not taking a ride share or public transportation when you visit (which you probably should) then you may be renting a car. In 2018, Georgia legislators passed the hands-free law, which states you cannot have your cell phone in your hand or support it with any part of your body.
Law enforcement isn't playing about this, either. They've increased the number of citations they're writing for this offense and they're
2. DUI | You are considered intoxicated if you're driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or above in Georgia. Long story short --don't drink and drive. Drink responsibly and plan accordingly. You must be 21 and older to drink.
To prevent driving after you've been drinking consider having a designated driver in your group, having a car service or ride share app available to use when you're ready to travel or using public transportation.
3. NO OPEN CONTAINERS | Speaking of drinking, you can not leave a business with with your drink. You also cannot drink while walking down the street or handing out on a sidewalk. You also can't drink alcohol in the passenger area of any car --including the notorious party Uber's. If you have a container of alcohol in the car, make sure it is not accessible (ie. put it in the trunk, locked glove compartment, or behind the last upright seat if the vehicle doesn't have a trunk --to be on the safe side). Don't leave it in an unlocked glove compartment. MORE: Atlanta will not lift its open container laws for Super Bowl 2019
4. POUR UNTIL 4 | Yes, people will be able to drink a little longer at bars during the Super Bowl. The Atlanta City Council passed an ordinance allowing bars and restaurants with a liquor license to serve until 4 a.m. from January 28, 2019 -February 4, 2019.
5. LEGAL ADULT | You must be at least 18 and up to attend the adult clubs in the city.
6. GUN LAWS | Georgia has reciprocity with a number of states which says we will recognize their gun policy if they recognize ours. You must have a concealed weapons permit from your state to carry a concealed weapon in Georgia. MORE: Georgia gun laws lenient, but restrict automatic weapons
7. NOISE ORDINANCE | Noise is not allowed to be heard from 300 feet away from 7:00 a.m. through 11:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday. On Friday and Saturday those times adjust from 7:00 a.m. through 12:00 p.m. Noise shouldn't be heard from more than 100 feet away from 11:00 p.m. through 7:00 a.m. All in all, be as respectful as possible.
The Super Bowl will be played in Atlanta on Feb. 3 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. 11Alive is the official partner of the Atlanta Super Bowl Host Committee, with exclusive content from the 11Alive set at Super Bowl LIVE in Centennial Olympic Park.
MORE SUPER BOWL |