Georgia junior Roquan Smith has become the first Bulldog to win the Butkus Award, given to the nation’s best collegiate linebacker.

Smith, a native of Montezuma, Ga., garnered 60 percent of the first-place votes and 40 percent of the overall weighted vote, which is a greater margin than any linebacker in the past decade. He was chosen from the other finalists of Michigan’s Devin Bush, Virginia Tech’s Tremaine Edmunds, Wisconsin’s T.J. Edwards and Clemson’s Dorian O’Daniel, according to an announcement from the Butkus Foundation.

Smith is the first Georgia player to win the Butkus Award in its 33-year history since 1985. There have been three other Bulldog finalists four different years in recent history, including Leonard Floyd (2015), Jarvis Jones (2011, 2012) and Justin Houston (2010).

"Roquan Smith proved to be the overwhelming favorite in this year's collegiate linebacking class,” according to the award selection committee. “He's always around the ball and is very tough, fast and instinctive, with exceptional football reflexes. He makes his presence felt all over the field and hits with the type of explosion that has come to define the Butkus Award. As terrific of a football player as he is, Roquan is highly regarded by teammates, coaches and support staff for his intelligence, intensity and leadership traits.”

Also a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award, Smith has earned midseason All-American honors by leading the team for a second year in a row with 113 tackles (8.7 tackles/game) during Georgia’s 12-1 campaign, highlighted by its 13th Southeastern Conference title and first since 2005 this past weekend.

Smith has added 10.5 tackles for loss, a team-leading 5.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries and a forced fumble to lead the Bulldogs. With the help from Butkus Award semifinalist Lorenzo Carter, Georgia ranks second nationally in Passing Yards Allowed (158.3 yards/game), third in Scoring Defense (13.8 points/game) and fourth in Total Defense (270.9 yards/game).

Georgia has held its last three opponents to a combined seven points in the second half, including the Bulldogs’ 28-7 rout of second-ranked Auburn in the SEC Championship Game. In addition, Georgia blanked Tennessee 41-0 during the regular season, snapping the nation’s fourth-longest active scoring streak and the sixth-longest streak in college football history.

The third-ranked Bulldogs (12-1) travel to Pasadena, Calif., to face second-ranked Oklahoma (12-1) in the College Football Playoff’s semifinal round in the Rose Bowl on Monday, January 1. Kickoff is at 5:10 p.m. ET.

The Butkus Award selection committee is comprised of 51 football coaches, recruiters, talent scouts and journalists who study football talent yearlong.

Also on Sunday, several players earned awards during the team’s annual gala. Here is a list of the winners:

Team Captains

Nick Chubb, Sony Michel, Isaiah Wynn, Roquan Smith

Vince Dooley Offensive MVP

Nick Chubb, Sony Michel

Vince Dooley Defensive MVP

Roquan Smith

Vince Dooley Special Teams MVP

Mecole Hardman

Charley Trippi Award

Sony Michel, Lorenzo Carter

Frank Sinkwich Award

Isaiah Wynn, Malkom Parrish

David Jacobs Award

Reggie Carter, Jeb Blazevich

Leon Farmer Strength and Conditioning Award

Nick Chubb

Up Front Award – Offense

Isaiah Wynn, Lamont Gaillard

Up Front Award – Defense

John Atkins, Jonathan Ledbetter, Davin Bellamy

Offensive Newcomer of the Year Award

Jake Fromm, D’Andre Swift, Andrew Thomas

Defensive Newcomer of the Year Award

J.R. Reed

Special Teams Newcomer of the Year Award

Cameron Nizialek, Prather Hudson, Christian Payne

Offensive Most Improved Player Award

Charlie Woerner, Kendall Baker

Defensive Most Improved Player Award

David Marshall, Dominick Sanders, D’Andre Walker, Tyler Clark

Special Teams Most Improved Player Award

Rodrigo Blankenship, Tyler Simmons, Jayson Stanley

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year

Thomas Swilley, Turner Fortin, Stetson Bennett, Willie Erdman

Defensive Scout Team Player Award

Jake Skole, Daniel Harper, Kirkland Smith, Michael Barnett

Special Teams Scout Team Player Award

Jaleel Laguins, Jordan Davis, Jacob Gross, Jordon McKinney

Community Service Award

Aaron Davis

Senior Scholar Award

John Courson (4.0, Biology and Psychology with a Neuroscience emphasis)