ATLANTA – Georgia House Speaker David Ralston announced Thursday the members of a new committee to examine school security around the state.

The House Study Committee on School Security was created earlier this year by the General Assembly in the wake of fatal school shooting in Parkland, Fla.

The committee is being chaired by Rep. Rick Jasperse (R-Jasper) and vice chaired by Rep. Mandi Ballinger (R-Canton). Other members are Rep. Tommy Benton (R-Jefferson); Rep. Heath Clark (R-Warner Robins); Rep. Katie Dempsey (R-Rome); Rep. Eddie Lumsden (R-Armuchee); Rep. Randy Nix (R-LaGrange); Rep. Brian Prince (D-Augusta); and Rep. Valencia Stovall (D-Forest Park).

The committee’s first meeting will be Monday, May 14, in Dawsonville.